Question: Which Horse Has Won 3 Cox Plates?

Only three horses have ever won the Melbourne Cup and then gone on to win the Cox Plate the following year: Phar Lap, Might and Power and Makybe Diva.

The first Cox Plate was run in 1922 and won by the English horse Violoncello, who also won his next three starts during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Who has won the most Cox Plates?

List of Cox Plate winners

2018WinxHugh Bowman
2017WinxHugh Bowman
2016WinxHugh Bowman
2015WinxHugh Bowman

56 more rows

Did Phar Lap win a Cox Plate?

Phar Lap dominated Australian racing during a distinguished career, winning a Melbourne Cup, two Cox Plates, an AJC Derby, and 19 other weight for age races. He then won the Agua Caliente Handicap in Tijuana, Mexico, in track-record time in his final race.

How many Cox Plates did Winx win?

On 2 March, Winx won the Group 1 Chipping Norton Stakes. For the first time in his career, Happy Clapper took the lead early and held it for most of the race, with a margin over Winx of 7 lengths at the 700m mark.

What’s the Cox Plate worth?

The Cox Plate at Moonee Valley soars to $5 million prizemoney, up from $3 million last year.